Vantrease Named to State Role

Weakley County School Board Chair Named to TSBA 2021 Board of Directors
Posted on 01/31/2021
This is the image for the news article titled Weakley County School Board Chair Named  to TSBA 2021 Board of DirectorsWeakley County Schools Board Chair Steve Vantrease was recently named to the Tennessee School Boards Association (TSBA) Board of Directors for 2021. The 18-member board carries out the mandates of the Delegate Assembly and act as a liaison between the Association and local school boards.

Vantrease has served on the Board of Education for Weakley County Schools for 20 years. Retired from 34 years in student services at the University of Tennessee at Martin, he continues to work as the assistant director of UTM’s Governor’s School for the Humanities and is also the director of the Ned Ray McWherter Institute. He obtained both a Bachelor of Science in business administration and a Master of Science in education administration at UTM and is a graduate of the WestStar Leadership program and the UT Leadership Institute.

“While I was surprised with the appointment, I am honored to have been asked to serve our professional organization in this position,” said Vantrease. “Several of my Weakley County colleagues have served in various leadership roles over the past several decades engaging, at the state level, in the administration of public education in Tennessee. I am honored to be able to continue this advocacy and will do my best to support and promote the best in public education.”

WCS Director Randy Frazier notes that TSBA is a statewide, nonprofit organization of school boards throughout Tennessee and Vantrease’s new role will help bring the needs of rural areas to the forefront of discussions.

“I’ve served alongside Steve Vantrease throughout my tenure as director of schools,” said Frazier. “His knowledge of how education systems operate is only surpassed by his heart and advocacy for the students, teachers and staff in this county. The TSBA has made a wise choice.”

TSBA also provides school board members with a collective voice in matters of legislation and public education concerns.

TSBA Officers are:
President Brett Henley, Coffee County
President-elect Keys Fillauer, Oak Ridge
Vice President Candy Morgan, Maryville
Treasurer Dr. Dale Viox, Arlington
Immediate Past President Mark Clark, Fayetteville

TSBA District Directors are:
Carolyn Ingram, Cleveland, Southeast District Director
Kevin Long, Johnson County, Northeast District Director
Marty Burlison, Tipton County, Delta District Director
Jimmie Garland, Clarksville-Montgomery County, Mid Cumberland District Director
Bobby Henderson, Hardeman County, Southwest District Director
Jo Williams, Anderson County, East District Director
Dr. Lee Carter, Huntingdon Special, Northwest District Director
Jayson McDonald, White County, Upper Cumberland District Director
Pat Welsh, Tullahoma, South Central District Director

Members At Large are:
Steve Vantrease, Weakley County
Wendell Wainwright, Fayette County
Susan Horn, Knox County
Nancy Garrett, Williamson County

For more information about TSBA, visit:

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.